#WIPJoy September 2016

First off, I’m sure you’re wondering: What does #WIPJoy mean?

Well, I’m going to explain it all to you. 🙂

Let me begin with WIP (in the writing world) stands for Work In Progress, and the Joy is at end of the hashtag, I assume to either make it stand out on it’s own, and/or because you’re sharing the Joy!

Anyway, this hashtag is kind of big on twitter (at least to me and the people I follow).

If you’re on Twitter you can follow Bethany A. Jennings (@simmeringmind) because she’s the mastermind behind the whole idea.

wipjoy

As you can see, #WIPJoy gives you questions that you answer about your story. I did it on my WWII story, but I only made it about two weeks in before I stopped. I thought, though, that it would be cool if I did a blog posts with my answers so they would be all together, AND for the people who aren’t on twitter. 🙂

 Day 1: (This is just a reminder that on Twitter you are limited in how much you can say per tweet.) A WWII novel about a girl raised by her grandparents, is terrified about turning out like her mother.

As a result of all the bad relationships in her family, she doesn’t know what real love is.

Day 2: I’m editing my story (This Very Moment) for the thousandth time. *sigh* but it’s nice to see it improving!

Day 3: Cherish, discover, heal, trust, and forgive.

Day 4: I think (at least for me) my story evokes a lot of nostalgia. Sad you’re growing up, but knowing that it’s also not a bad thing.

But then, you could take into account one of them goes to fight in a war so it’s not ALL good. My poor characters.

Day 5: Ah, I’m never good at these ‘share a line’ ones because…. I don’t just have some memorized or have a secret stash of my favorite or anything? And I like it better when I only have to think about it for a little while, not when I have to go hunting through my story…. so I don’t have an answer for this one…

Day 6: My antagonist loves himself. Loves being in control.

Day 7: Marilyn’s mother and her grandmother are probably the ones who have the most interesting history.

Day 8: (Oh I remember this one! I think it was one of my favorites.)

Being poked with a needle.

The smell of fresh bread.

Shouting at loved ones.

Seeing loved ones leave for war.

Taste of a milkshake.

Day 9: The short answer? No, my main character and I don’t really have much past in common.

Day 10: And then again with the ‘share a line’…. *casually skips*

Day 11: I regret never standing up for myself. I’m strong then I think.

Day 12: I think Kenneth hides how much he feels. If he let me know, I might be able to help him. I love him so much.

Day 13: Um. She doesn’t really use weapons… a needle maybe? Words? Haha.

Day 14: I like the old fashioned idea of romance. Deeply in love, approved of my by families, and… kind to each other.

Day 15: (honestly I don’t like the question, because I kind of feel like my characters don’t know they are characters, this is their actual real life… but I did answer it.)

Well, it would be nice if she could remember my name is spelled with ONE n (Marilyn) and she kinda makes my life suck.

Day 16: Um… I have no idea what to say for this one.

Day 17: Yes, yes I do.

Day 18: One day, I feel like I will share some lines of my story with you, but… today is not that day.

Day 19: Ooh, well, you see when I was 13 I wrote the first draft of this story. And ever since then, I have loved it. It never let me go. Even after I knew that that version sucked, I wanted to rewrite… and so I eventually did. (and hopefully it sucks far less. 😉 )

Day 20: A big theme in my book it relationships, so I’d recommend it to someone who finds them interesting or has had problems with them in the past.

Day 21: Probably the said relationships.

Day 22: I know this sounds like an excuse, but my computer doesn’t really like..anything. Like me putting pictures of my blog, for example. But if you follow me on Pinterest I have a board.

Day 23: Well. That’s a really hard question. I kind of feel like it isn’t the typical romance… before you get to the ‘happily ever after’ they go through a bit of pain…

Day 24 and again… skipping! 🙂

And this blog post is already pretty long, so I’m just going to wrap up there. So. Now you know a tiny bit more about my story (I feel like I should do a blog post actually about my story now…)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

