In Ten Years

Who knows where I’ll be in ten years, but here is a letter to myself for in ten years. (Though, I’ll probably forget I wrote this, so…)

Hi,

It’s me. You. Whatever.

So, you’re almost thirty now. Wow. You can feel old, it’s fine. I mean, at this point when I’m writing it, my (our) oldest sister is not even yet thirty… wow. I don’t want to think about being thirty. Moving on.

Whenever I think about the future I want to know what it will be like then I have no desire to write about how things are now because right now I already know, if that makes sense.

But it is important to remember, and good, bad, or indifferent, I am sentimental, so I want you to remember a few things.

Remember when Reagan (mom’s puppy) would get excited when he saw you and lick your face and neck and get you all wet with puppy slobber? Kind of gross, but it is just so sweet… I have to keep letting him do it. 😉

I don’t know exactly what you’re up to now, but while I’m writing this, you work at a fast food restaurant. It’s weird seeing so many faces every time at work, and knowing you’ll probably never see them again, but knowing for some reason God had it happen that we did come into contact with each other. Usually I don’t think it really has anything to do with me– I’m just a go between to get their food– but remember that one time you talked to a mother for like five minutes and she said something along the lines of, “I’m sure you’ll do great at that!” when talking about your future? Yeah, that was a pretty cool moment.

Remember to reread the Christy Miller series. I’m pretty sure you won’t regret it.

Oh, and reread the Harry Potter books– kind of the complete opposite of Christy Miller, but still. Trust me. 😉

Sleep with your window open at night during the spring when you can.

Make sure you usually get enough sleep, but make sure you realize that sometimes staying up late with friends and loved ones is by far more important. (and that’s saying something considering how much I like sleep.)

Try to be healthy, but life is short and eat a cookie every now and then.

People may discourage you from trying to achieve what you want, and other’s will go to the opposite extreme and say things like, “You can do whatever you want!” Just know that I think both are wrong.

Follow God, and with Him you can accomplish anything– it isn’t because you’re super special or anything.

There was a woman who sang me a song at Downtown Disney last time I went, and at the very end she told me, “Put God first and everything else will follow.” It’s not new advice, but it’s the best.

Make sure you continue to hug people, supposedly it makes people live longer, but I just like hugging loved ones. (hugging people you don’t know, I’m sure, is still awkward, so you can continue to avoid that.)

I don’t know where you are in life, but I hope you got to, or you get to, travel. At this point, I still want to see the beaches in Maine, and Hawaii, and Alaska, and Colorado, and Texas, and the Grand Canyon, and… well… maybe just one of those places? Please? 😉

Well, since this is a blog post, I’ll close for now.

Have fun, and I’ll see you later! (er… I guess? In a way? Hopefully in ten years you’ll be a little less awkward, but I doubt it. 😉 )

Your younger self,

Naomi

Leave a comment

Filed under Adventure

Leave a Reply

