King’s Folly By Jill Williamson ~ Book Review

King's Folly

King’s Folly by Jill Williamson

Overview

An Epic New Fantasy Series from
Fan Favorite Jill Williamson

This edition includes the first three parts of the Kinsman Chronicles originally released as ebooks.
o Part 1–Darkness Reigns
o Part 2–The Heir War
o Part 3–The End of All Things

The gods are angry.

Volcanic eruptions, sinkholes, ground shakers–everything points to their unhappiness. At least that is what the king of Armania believes. His son, Prince Wilek, thinks his father’s superstitions are nonsense, though he remains the ever dutiful First Arm of Armania.

When a messenger arrives and claims that the town of Farway has been swallowed by the earth, the king sends Wilek to investigate. But what Wilek discovers is more cataclysmic than one lost city. Even as the ground shifts beneath his feet, Wilek sets out on a desperate journey to save his people and his world. But can he do it before the entire land crumbles?

When I had the opportunity to get this book for free– I was really excited. If you didn’t know, Jill Williamson is one of my favorite authors.

But… it makes me sad to say so…but this book was kind of a disappointment.

There were so many main characters, it was hard to keep track, and just as I was getting used to all of the different point of views, it changes for each part of the book. I don’t know if it is just me, but sometimes I didn’t really care to read an entire chapter in someone elses point of view. I think sometimes, it was kind of pointless, because it could have been summed up easily, later.

Because there were so many characters, even not main characters, when a plot twist was revealed, I was unimpressed. I had to run through the list of characters to try to figure out who he was– and if he isn’t who I thought he was, is it really a big deal if I didn’t remember who he was anyway?

In some ways I also thought the story dragged a bit. (but that probably goes back too how I thought there were more than enough characters, and their chapters could be summed up faster then they were.) Through most of the book, I kind of had to force myself to sit down and keep reading it, because… well… I was kind of bored.

Near the end though, it was exciting (once I remembered the plot twist, and kind of had it figured out in my mind) because then the end of the story was coming and some things, at least, had to be summed up.

Epic fights, and a few more plot twists, a few loose ends to keep a reader hooked for a sequel, and a couple of happy reunions… that was probably my favorite part of the book.

Now, I know I probably sound horrible, and mean, but Jill Williamson is actually kind of amazing. It is obvious that she plotted out every land, and every person. Which is kind of incredible! There are maps and family trees in the beginning, and I throughout the book she explains things about the god’s she created.

Oh, and speaking of the gods. I didn’t really like how she did it, because even though it seemed like she was trying to say that there was One True God, it didn’t really feel like ONE true God, just one of the many gods, maybe slightly more powerful than others… but I kind of expect her to explain that more throughout the series.

If you are a fan of Lord of the Rings, love fantasy and complex cast and story, then you should give Jill Williamson’s King’s Folly a try.

I got a copy of this book for free from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

