Last Summer

I keep thinking about last summer, how it is a lot different from this summer.

Things didn’t exactly go as planned (pretty much at all) to what I thought would happen. I got my first job, and to my excitement, I got a second job. (a non seasonal job, so I was happy about that.) But I had only worked a few days when the second job decided that actually didn’t want me. (and I had already quit my first job.)

So then I was jobless.

While it wasn’t the worst thing that could have happened, it was disappointing. (and looking back now, I can kind of see how it was nice, the way it went.)

I decided to focus on writing for a little while, and still look for a job, but not to stress about it.

And then life didn’t go as planned (again.)

I got a headache.

It didn’t leave.

I literally had the same bad headache for six weeks straight. (there was a fifteen minute break from the pain when I took some super strong pain killer, but it was only fifteen minutes.)

I was taking two Excedrin Migraine pills every morning (normal dose is one every 24 hours) and two ibuprofen every 4 hours (both per the doctors recommendation.)

I would even drink soda and coffee or tea (I normally don’t have any caffeine on a regular basis.)

I remember one morning I was tired, but I was shaking from all of the caffeine I had taken, and I still had the endless headache.

On a scale of one to ten, I think most days it was about a five or a six.

One day in particular stands out to me. It was the day my sister Samantha chose her wedding dress. Sometime in the afternoon my headache increased to the worst headache I have ever had. I’m not sure what the difference is between a headache and a migraine, but I’ve had both, and  this headache– not a migraine– was horrible.

I look back on last summer now, and I’m thankful I didn’t have a job. I’m sure I would have lived if I had to work, but I’m glad I wasn’t in the position where I had to work.

Last summer wasn’t all bad, though. I got my first job and that was an interesting learning experience. My sister got engaged, and that was special! But I think it is kind of important to remember that bad stuff too– often people look back on the past and remember only the good things, and I don’t blame them for wanting to remember the good times!

But the good and bad times together are what makes us each, us.

I’ll never get last summer back, and I honestly don’t know if I’d want to go through it again. (while my headache finally went away– thank God and my smart mother for that!– I still was having health issues…)

I’m not sure what this summer will hold, but I am interested to see what it has to offer me.

Especially if it is better then last summer. 😉

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Last Summer

  1. I enjoyed reading your thoughts on last summer! So good that your headaches went away! How has this summer been going?

    • This summer has been going really well so far! I actually just graduated this past weekend, so that was really exciting. What about you? I meant to tell you this a long time ago– but at the end of 2015 WordPress sent me an email about my blog, I believe it said you were my most frequent commenter. So thank you! 😀