Flirtation Walk~ A Book Review

Flirtation Walk by Siri Mitchell

Flirtation Walk

Siri Mitchell has written over a dozen novels, three of which were named Christy Award finalists. A graduate of the University of Washington with a business degree, she has worked in many levels of government and lived on three continents. She and her
family currently reside in the DC Metro area. Learn more at http://www.sirimitchell.com.

Back Cover: Trying to escape the shambles her con-man father has made of their reputation, Lucinda Curtis arrives in West Point, New York, determined to land a husband from the military academy. Campbell Conklin is first in his class and preparing to embark upon a storied career in the U.S. Army. Lucinda thinks Campbell will make the perfect husband . . . as long as he does not find out about her father.

Seth Westcott also has taken a liking to Lucinda. He’s kind, smart . . . and working extremely hard to graduate last. Tradition states that the worst cadets are assigned to the cavalry out west. And west is where Seth must head to track the swindler who stole all of Seth’s mother’s money. Seth is smart enough to vie for the top spot, but life isn’t fair and this is his chance to catch the man who ruined his family. It’s too bad Campbell is all shine and no substance, but Lucinda will surely see through all of that, won’t she?

My Review: As soon as I started reading this book I thought, “oh, this is going to be good…” (Well, my exact thoughts might have been more along the lines of, “Oh! This is in first person?!? People hardly ever write in first person!!” And for some reason I think I prefer first person…. but anyways…)

The characters were fun! They had problems that made them feel real, but not so many that you couldn’t relate or it felt over done. I didn’t always agree with the characters, but I could understand them which was pretty great!

At first since it was in first person I thought maybe it would only be in the point of view of one character, but it still alternated between the two main characters. But unlike when a book is told in third person I didn’t get confused as to who’s head I was supposed to be in!

There was a point where I thought this book might go from a five star to a four star… because to take down the villain they were doing exactly what the villain was doing in the first place! (And if they do that, what makes them any better than the villain?) But like what happens in many stories– it didn’t go exactly as planned, so I would still give it five stars.

One thing that I didn’t like as much was that, while the book was ‘Christian’, it didn’t seem to have any great biblical truths in it. I felt like it ended with the character’s attitude kind of like, “Oh, yeah, I guess God might exist….”

But all in all, I would still give the book five out of five stars. 😀

I received this book for free from the publishing company in exchange for my review.

Comments Off on Flirtation Walk~ A Book Review

Filed under Book Review

Comments are closed.