A Gift Of Life

(This is an older post that I never put up, but it is true, nonetheless.)

There was a little boy named Josh. He was three years old. One day, he went with his father on a bike ride. He was riding in a cart on the back, with his father driving. A truck hit them from behind and Josh died.
I’ve been thinking about Josh a lot lately, how young he was when he died. How his parents and grandparents and everyone must have felt. It must be so hard to lose a child at any age—but at so young?
I’m not trying to be depressing, but as I said, I’ve been thinking about this. I wonder why it is some people can live to be a hundred while some die at three. Or younger.
I have no doubt that God has a plan and a purpose for this, but I can’t help but wonder. What does God have in store for me, that I’m supposed to live more than five times the lifetime of Josh? Why me? Why him?
You’ve probably heard it before. “Time goes by faster when you’re older”. You’ve probably seen things like this before, “Tell those you love that you love them”. Both are true, I’m sure. I do tell people that I love that I love them. (and as for how fast time goes, it goes by quickly now but I’m not old so… I just have to take other people’s word for it.)
I believe that I learned an important lesson very young. Time is a special gift that should be valued. What you do today, make sure you’re all there. Storing every special memory.
I was talking to someone a while ago and they smiled and said, “You have your whole life ahead of you.”

And I agree. Sort of. I probably will live to graduate high school, and college. I will probably see a lot of sunsets and (probably to my dismay) a few sun rises. I’ll get up many more morning and smell coffee and some of our farm animals. When I go to bed at night I’m confident that I’ll wake in the morning.
I’m not scared of dying young. If that’s what God has in store for me, that’s fine. And if he expects me to live until I’m ninety-seven that’s fine too. Just when I heard about Josh, I couldn’t help but think about it.
Everyone probably thought Josh had a long lifetime ahead of him too. He didn’t though. Did his parents understand how quickly life can leave? How short a lifetime can actually be?
When people die, I’m sure there are regrets. If only, “I wish I hugged him a bit tighter,” or “I wish I told him I loved him—just one last time”. And that’s why it’s important for every moment to count.
Josh’s death with a shock. It was a surprise. But things like Josh’s death DO happen. So value your life, your time, and others lives and time.
Remember laughs and smiles.
Remember tight hugs.
Remember making their day in small ways.

Remember holding hands.

Remember to love.

Life can change in an instant. There is this thing “YOLO” which stands for, “You only live once”. Often it is used in…. I guess you would say an irresponsible way. In and of itself, though, it is true. You DO only live once. So. What are you doing with this chance of a lifetime gift of life?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

