Being a Reader And A Writer

I love to read. But I also love to write. And the more I learn how to write, the more I (hopefully) improve at writing, but the more I find bigger mistakes in other people’s stories I find.

Now, I’m not saying I’m perfect– nope, nope, nope. But I think it is easier for readers to notice mistakes in books (in some ways) then writers.

Readers are not emotionally invested in the book.

Okay, reader DO get emotionally attached and invested in characters, but if you haven’t created the character, pulled them into the page and written them into the story– as much as you love those characters, you won’t know them like the author. As a reader, you get a different perspective then the writer– which is good and bad. šŸ™‚

Whenever I get ready to write a not five or four start book review, I feel guilty. I usually try to convince myself it was better then three or two or one star reviews.

As a reader who writes, I don’t want to crush the author’s hopes and dreams of having a book that everyone will love. Usually, whatever I want to say about the book, I try to say nicely. šŸ™‚

I’ve heard of writers who don’t read… and I don’t understand them. That’s like drinking but not eating. Both are good and enjoyable. I love to write but I love to read too. šŸ™‚

Are you a writer or a reader?

Comments Off on Being a Reader And A Writer

Filed under life as a writer, reader, writer life

Comments are closed.