Life As A Writer

I write. (I know some of you are thinking, “well, not on your BLOG but okay.” I’M SORRY, OKAY?!?! πŸ™‚ ) Anyway. I don’t write some of the ‘weirder’ books with time travel and aliens and evil government uprisings (usually) but I still write. And I still get IDEAS even if I just stick them in the “Someday-Maybe-I-Wish-I-Could-Write-All-The-Stories-Now” folder.

As writer, though, (or maybe it’s just me, or because I’m homeschooled– I think it’s a combination really) I can be really… unique. Very different. πŸ™‚

For example, several weeks ago I went out to dinner for a friend for her birthday. I got sweet and sour chicken, but they put it on top of cabbage (which it turns out I kind of like) and had rice in a separate bowl. We started talking about the cabbage and I said, “How do we know this is actually cabbage and not something like dried spider guts?”

Probably not the most pleasant thing to talk about while eating….

Blurting things out before you think about them is bad enough when you’re not a writer, but when you ARE a writer what you blurt out is even worse…. But it’s also a bigger and better accomplishment when you don’t! Or at least I get pretty excited….

Oh, or I have another example.

A couple of years ago I volunteered at a Renaissance fair. Since I was just a volunteer I didn’t really have to ‘act’ at all so for the rehearsals we mostly played games that forced you to interact with each other and think quickly. So when it came to me to say an action quickly– did I mention I don’t work well under pressure? Can we blame it partly if not completely on that?– I blurted out the first thing that came to mind, “Shooting people.” I’m pretty sure everyone took a step back.

So, yeah. At any given moment I can/will make up a story about the person in the story who had five tubes of tooth paste in his cart any nothing else, or anything really.

Famous quote from the famous Adrian Monk. (This is really a fictional tv show but Monk has a sever case of the mental disorder known as OCD or CDO)

I just figured this quote from Monk fit. πŸ™‚

2 Comments

Filed under life as a writer, writer life

2 responses to “Life As A Writer

  1. Spider guts? Lol, I can’t say I do that. πŸ™‚ Have a blessed day!

    http://teensliveforjesus.blogspot.ru

Leave a Reply

