True Beauty

People today put a label, it seems to me, on beauty. How you have to act, how you have to dress, who you have to be, basically.

I don’t know if it’s just me, but every now and then I’ll be scrolling along on whatever sight and suddenly a big colorful thing will be there and say something like, “You’re beautiful.”

To be perfectly honest, it really aggravates me.

Sure, when someone genuinely compliments me and tells me, “you’re beautiful” it would make me happy. (Unless you’re a creeper but I was just imagining someone in my family saying that.) But when someone I don’t know, or don’t know all that well, posts something saying, “You’re beautiful” because they’re lying.

Before you get annoyed with my ‘longing for attention’ or disappointed in my self esteem, or whatever you think is wrong with me, hear me out.

Everyone has different ideas of what’s beautiful. Everyone has different tastes. Even if I am the most beautiful person in the world, it’s all just personal opinion.

I am not going to be beautiful to everyone.

And that’s perfectly okay.

I don’t have to be, I don’t really want to be. (Have you seen some of these things that are so popular? It’s not really my style.)

When someone looks at me, I want them to see me smiling, or laughing. Or, more likely, see the book I’m buried behind—let’s be honest, that can say a lot about a person. I want them to know my likes and my dislikes. I want them to know my personality before they tell me I’m beautiful.

Shallowness annoys me to know end. When guys flirt with girls they barely know, when girls obsess over guys they know nothing about… it’s sad.

Right now, it seems, that half of the people are telling us (‘us’ being the general public) how to dress to be popular or cute or whatever it is the people seem to think we want to be, while the other half tells us that it doesn’t matter. That we’re beautiful anyway, however we are dressed, whatever we look like.

I don’t really fit into either category.

I don’t act or dress to be popular, nor do I believe that I always need assurance that I’m still beautiful. Sure, I mean, I don’t want people to be disgusted when they see me, and I try to dress in clothes I like… but… guess what? I do that for myself.

Being beautiful isn’t important like that to me.

After I’m dead, I don’t care if people remember what I look like. Have you ever noticed that after you don’t see someone for a while, you kind of forget the details of their face?

Wouldn’t you rather be remembered for something you did? Or said? In two hundred years, is it really going to matter how good your selfies look?

Awhile ago in history, I made a comment to my mom about how every was ugly back then… during the 1500’s and before and even after. She said it’s just the way they painted the portraits. It doesn’t matter how they look, though. Their appearance is not on my tests and quizzes. The things they accomplished and the things they said are though. Because that’s what really mattered.

I’m not trying to discourage any of you into thinking that you aren’t actually beautiful, but I’m not going to lie to you and say definitely that you are. It isn’t for me to say. It’s not for anyone who doesn’t know you to have an opinion on.

Actions speak louder than appearances. And aren’t you glad?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “True Beauty

  1. Pingback: Post 101! | naomiandbooks