Thoughts about schools

I think most of you know I’m homeschooled. (And I love it!) But it may not be like you think it is. I don’t get to sleep as late as I want, or wear my PJ’s all day. I don’t get all A’s, and I’m not even out for the summer yet. (I’m not saying if you’re homeschooled and get all A’s you cheat, some do but NOT all. 🙂 )

I guess when you boil it down, I work hard at my school. Just as hard, if not harder than people who are public schooled.

I don’t know why, but I ask a LOT questions. Sometimes during school I’ll be asking so many questions (not to be annoying, just things I thought of) and my mom will just say, “I don’t know”, a few times

Recently, I had to go take my learner’s permit test.

I think that that test is dumb for a number of reasons, but I’ll only bring up one.

For one of the questions it asked, basically, when it was okay to pass someone on the right. So I chose the option, “if the car in front of you is having an emergency”.

You all know I right stories? Yes, I have a super active imagination. So when I saw the word emergency I basically thought, “Okay, the country is at war, all the buildings destroyed, half the people are dead and everyone else is fleeing the country. I’m behind a car who is stopped with a bomb strapped on it about to blow (because that’s IS an emergency right?) and I’m being chased by terrorists, is it all right to pass on the right? OF COURSE IT’S ALL RIGHT TO PASS ON THE RIGHT!!!!”

Well, obviously the government never expects a writer (or maybe just someone like me…) to take the test, because I got the answer wrong.

Later I was talking to my dad about it and I said, “It’s dumb because you just memorize the answer they want to hear instead of what you would actually do.” (And I’ll just say right here, even though I hope the chances of something like my emergency I imagined never happen, if it did…. I’d pass on the right. 🙂 )

My dad said that is how the public school system is. You just tell them what they want and expect to hear and you get good grades. I saw something on the internet, numerous times, that said, “Being super smart and getting good grades aren’t necessarily the same thing.” And I believe it.

I’ve also seen something that said, “Homeschoolers are more likely to think outside the box because they’ve been educated outside the box”. I believe that too. (How else do I come up with these wacky questions to ask my mom in school?)

I’m not saying that the curriculum I use for school is perfect (more than once I’ve complained about how dumb my grammar book is, or questioned what in the world my history book means when they said that.)

But I ask questions, and I wonder if they are true, and I try to think things through logically.

Have a nice weekend! 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under test

Leave a Reply

