Winning unhappily, Losing laughingly

 

One time, several years ago, I ran in a three legged race. I think it as my first three legged race I had ever ran in.

I ran in the race with my friend Mary Ann. I think it was just us against two boys, because I don’t remember running against anyone else.

We could’ve won. Honestly, though, the boys were in the dust. πŸ˜€

We were laughing so hard, though, we fell down. We just thought it was the greatest thing ever. We just laid on the ground laughing– even though we knew if we didn’t get up and keep running we’d lose.

I remember when we were down on the ground, I looked behind and I saw the boys faces… and they looked so determined and serious, they weren’t laughing at all.

We ended up losing to the boys, but we still laughed about it.

Even after the boys won, I don’t remember them being happy about it.

So, is it better to win unhappily, or lose laughingly? I think I’d rather lose laughingly. I still think we had a better time in the race then the boys.

The only thing on the boys minds was winning. I’m not sure what was on my mind, really. I’m pretty sure, though, I didn’t mind knowing I wasn’t going to win. As I laid laughing on the ground, I remember hearing the person in charge cheer us on, and if we hadn’t stayed on the ground so long we could’ve won. (I wasn’t joking when I said we left them in the dust.)

Anyways, sometimes it really isn’t about winning, but playing the game. Maybe it isn’t really about playing the game, either, just about enjoying yourselves. (I’m sure I’m not the only one who’s had fun playing a game ignoring the rules and still having fun… πŸ™‚

So have a good day today. Laugh when you play a game (even if you are behind or you fall down or both). Laugh as you watch others play a game, even if you don’t know WHY you’re laughing, keep laughing. Laughter is fun. πŸ˜€

3 Comments

Filed under Adventure

3 responses to “Winning unhappily, Losing laughingly

  1. This was wonderful to read, Naomi! While I do tend to win unhappily, every now and then I do end laughingly, as you put it. Thank you for this post, because it was wonderful!

Leave a Reply

