Turkey Day vs. Thanksgiving

I remember several years ago, my family and I went to this church and around Thanksgiving they’d have a potluck kind of dinner. I remember having the pastor talk to me and something like, “So, Naomi, you having Turkey Day this week?”

(Insert cricket chirping here

I had no idea what he was talking about. Then I said hesitantly, “We’re having Thanksgiving??”

Well, besides the fact that I like the whole meaning behind calling it Thanksgiving, I really don’t understand calling it ‘Turkey Day’. I mean, who decided the turkey is the most important dish to have and it deserves the whole day named after it? For their information, I like pretty much all the food we have on Thanksgiving. Not just the turkey.

Ok, now that I’m done ranting about calling it Turkey Day, I am going to talk about calling it Thanksgiving.

It pretty much is what it sounds like, giving thanks. Pretty basic, right? Except people jump from Halloween where they get candy and Christmas where they get gifts. Um… I think a day to pause (while filling your mouth with food that isn’t necessarily turkey) and be thankful for what you do have. It isn’t just a holiday to mark when it is officially not frowned upon to decorate for Christmas, it isn’t (prepare yourself!) even about the food. Not the turkey. Not the pie. Nope.

It is about giving thanks. About the things you do have. So, this Thanksgiving, don’t stress about this or that, be thankful for what you do have. 😀

Five things I’m thankful for….

1. Thanksgiving is almost here!!

2. my laptop

3. pictures

4. THAT IT IS ALMOST TIME TO LISTEN TO CHRISTMAS MUSIC AND BUY CHRISTMAS GIFTS AND PRETTY MUCH THE WHOLE CHRISTMAS SEASON

5. food (even if that isn’t what Thanksgiving is about, I wouldn’t have made it this far without it. 😉 )

Have a great day everyone!!!

5.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

