Veterans Day

Today, in the US anyway, is Veterans Day. A day we remember those who have given their lives, or are serving their country, for us.

(Just a warning, I briefly tried to think of a beautiful, eloquent way of saying this… but it’s just going to come out and hopefully make sense.)

It makes me sad to think about all the people that died for a country and then realize where it is.

When the colonist started fighting, I’m sure they had huge hopes for how things would go. And can you imagine how scary it must’ve been to become independent? They were so small you’d think it would’ve been easy for a country to come in and take over…. but they fought anyway.

It saddens me that people do not appreciate the freedoms they have. And it really bothers me that they throw away not only their freedoms but the freedoms for their future generations!!!

If you want to throw away your freedoms, fine it bothers me a lot, but it is your decision to make. But when you want to throw away MY freedoms…. what are you dumb or something? (Well, I guess I already established the fact that they are dumb because they are throwing away their freedom…) You try to take away my rights, I’m going to have something to say about it, and that’s a promise. (I’d probably end up just talking to myself, or ranting on my blog, or talking to my family, but I’d still have something to say about it.)

So, why don’t you take a moment to be content. (or at least try)
Why don’t you think for a moment about the history that is around you, the people who gave their lives, not only for their families or so they could have freedom, but so generations after them may enjoy freedom too.

I hope you have a wonderful day.

Thank you for serving my country, to the people now and in the past.

 

 

Five things I am thankful for:

1. Freedom

2. History

3. Veterans

4. my house

5. my home state

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Veterans Day

  1. You might enjoy this poem about families and absence, “While He’s Away: A Poem About Being Gone.” http://wp.me/p3BzWN-lB