National I’m NOT Writing a Novel Month

It is November now. 🙂 We can officially say, “THANKSGIVING IS THIS MONTH!!!!!!!”

Some people also associate this month with Nation Novel Writing Month (or NaNoWriMo for short). It is where you try to write 50,000 words in 30 days.

I was planning on doing this, and even started my story, but since I hated it from day 1 on writing it, it wasn’t very encouraging to keep writing it.

Then I started thinking about it even more. Sure, I’d get 50,000 words in only 30 days! But you know what? At the and of the month every word the I write is going to be trash and I’ll have to rewrite the whole thing.

So I decided to do what I considered the logical thing, not write it.

I just didn’t want to spend a month writing a story that I hate, knowing I’ll have to rewrite it, that it’ll waste my time…. I’d rather write a story that I like, that I am EXCITED about (or at least don’t wish death upon). So, maybe in a couple months, I’ll restart that story and completely love it. (it has happened before), but until then, I still write because I love it. I’m not being paid. It isn’t a job. Right now, it is just a hobby that I love, and I don’t want to squeeze my love of writing out. (I feel as if the chances are, I’d just hate my story more and more.)

I told my mom, “I’d rather take more time to write a first draft that is better”.

So, there are my thoughts. If you are doing it, that’s great! 😀 But I decided not to, and I guess it boils down to, I don’t want to do it.

Maybe next year, I’ll do it and love it, but this year, I’m just going to take a break, write what I want, and not push myself to get the story down. (I did do it last year, and I had fun, but it is terrible so I know I’ll need to rewrite it… besides the fact it is a third book in a series and I didn’t really have anything for the other stories…)

I hope you have a wonderful NaNoWriMo month! Get those 50,000! 🙂

Five things I am thankful for:

1. I DON’T HAVE TO WRITE THE STORY I DON’T LIKE!!!!!

2. I am thankful it has been so pretty these last couple of days…

3. water

4. little camp-like fire

5. blankets!

Have a wonderful rest of the day! 🙂

Comments Off on National I’m NOT Writing a Novel Month

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.