My Finger Imprisoned By A Ring– A True Story

So… I don’t know about you, but I kind of had an adventure yesterday… πŸ™‚ I’ll start at the beginning.

My sisters Samantha, Tonya and Kristin went to a Celtic Festival. Around lunch time my mom offered to take me there, and so I went.

After I got there, I watch some guys throw heavy things for a little while, then wandered with my sisters and our friends around to the different tents.

I wanted to get come Celtic earrings and a necklace, but I wasn’t opposed at looking at rings either. So I innocently picked up a smooth silver band and slid it onto my left middle finger. I’m not sure how I got it on because it SURE didn’t want to come off!!!!!!

I put it on and tried to take it off and said, “It’s stuck.”

Samantha and Kristin immediately told me, “Don’t panic.”

Okay, I wasn’t panicking yet, it had only been stuck on for two seconds.

I tugged at the ring, twisting it and turning it, but that thing didn’t want to MOVE!!

The lady who was selling the rings gave me some hand sanitizer, and said that it would get it off. The man in the tent right next to hers said he had a wrench if that didn’t work….

The next couple of minutes contained clean hands, nervous jokes and lots of hand sanitizer as I tried to get the ring off. One of our friends came over and asked what was going on, she saw my red, slightly swollen finger and gasped. But not just an, ‘Oh no!’ kind of gasp, it was an ‘OH MY GOODNESS THEY ARE FEEDING HER HAND TO AN ALLIGATOR WHILE IT’S STILL ATTACHED TO HER HAND!!!!!!!!!’ kind of gasp. Ok, ok, to be simpler, it was REALLY dramatic. πŸ˜€ (She said it was because my hand was purple…) After that, whenever I started twisting the ring she would say, “I think it’s working,” though she was just saying that to make me feel better… and since I knew she was just saying that…. it didn’t really make me feel better… πŸ™‚

The lady selling the rings gave me some ice in a bag so I stood there, holding my finger on the ice. Someone said, “We won’t leave without your finger, I promise.” Another person said something about, if I had to have my finger taken off the doctors at the hospital could probably put it back on, and ‘You even have it on ice!’

Finally, I slipped the ring off and handed it to the lady with a triumphant, relieved smile.

So, just some suggestions if you are ever going some place and trying on rings (you can do all or none [obviously] of the following πŸ™‚ ) : over estimate on the size, or try it on a smaller finger at first, make sure someone has hand sanitizer or something that will help get it off, and you might want to try a ring on that has a stone or something to grab onto to.

Now that I think back on it…. we should have recorded that…. πŸ™‚ No matter how nervous I was with thoughts of, “Am I going to have to go the hospital?’ That whole seen brought lots of laughter to our group. πŸ˜€

Anything interesting like (or even more interesting) happen to you? πŸ™‚ Do you have any suggestions of what to do if your finger is ever imprisoned by a ring, as mine was?

Comments Off on My Finger Imprisoned By A Ring– A True Story

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.