If I can kill a cactus, you can accomplish your dream

In the spring, I went shopping with my mom and my sister Kristin.

Well, we were at this store and they had little cacti in little pots on shelves and I decided that I wanted to get a cactus. I thought that a cactus would be a good plant for me. I figured, “You can’t kill them, right?”

Because she is awesome Kristin bought me a strawflower cactus.

There were three parts of the cactus in the pot, and it had purple flowers, and I was happy. ūüôā

Then, over the next couple of weeks, I planted it in a real pot with potting soil. I tried to give it water every now and then and be a good cactus owner.

Around then was when the first part of my cactus died. It was sad, but I tried to comfort myself with the thought that it didn’t look quiet the best when I got it.

Not too long after that is when the second part of my cactus was dying.

Now I may or may not have been freaking out a little bit…. I Googled something about strawflower cacti, trying to figure out how to get it to live.

I learned then that apparently¬†strawflower’s aren’t easy to take care of. You are supposed to have sandy soil,¬†and have¬†sunlight-but not to much!- and so on. One thing that I¬†learned that annoyed me was THE FLOWERS WERE FAKE! They GLUE the flowers onto the cacti. I felt¬†cheated.

So then a couple weeks ago,¬†the last and final part of my cactus died…. now I have a pot in my room with two shriveled up, died cacti pieces, full of soil and¬†sitting there mocking me¬†my fake cactus flowers…. ūüė¶¬†

BUT I leaned a lesson.¬†(well, more then one obviously the first one is I don’t have green thumbs) I also learned that, if I can kill a cactus– something I thought was pretty much impossible– then who is to say I can do something that I think is pretty much impossible and something that I want to happen?

So I leave you with this: If I can kill a cactus, you can accomplish your dream– even if it sounds more impossible them killing a cactus!

(I think you at least owe it to me to at least try, think of how sad I was when my pet cactus died…. now if I can kill a bamboo plant… I think I’ll have an issue…) ūüôā

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “If I can kill a cactus, you can accomplish your dream

  1. Love that positive thinking!

Leave a Reply

